What is PIN Code? Postal Index Number

What is the Pin Code? Postal Index Number which is also called as Pin Code which is used to formally sort and deliver the mail, Visit to know more
What is PIN Code? Postal Index Number

Postal Index Number (PIN) is also called as Pin Code which is used to formally sort and deliver the mail. Stick code is a 6-digit code of Post office numbering utilized by Indian post. There are 9 PIN regions in the country. The first 8 are geographical regions and the digit 9 reserved for the Army Postal Service. The first digit indicates one of the regions. 

The first 2 digits together indicate the sub region or one of the postal circles. The first 3-digit together indicate a sorting/revenue district. The last 3-digit refers to the delivery Post Office. The fourth digit speaks to the course on which a Delivery office is situated in the sorting area. The last two digits speak to the conveyance office inside the sorting locale beginning form 01.

The principal digit of the PIN shows as underneath

First DigitRegionStates Covered
1 Northern Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and J & K
2 Northern Uttar Pradesh and Uttaranchal
3 Western Rajasthan and Gujarat
4 Western Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh
5 Southern Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka
6 Southern Kerala and Tamil Nadu
7 Eastern West Bengal, Orissa and North Eastern
8 Eastern Bihar and Jharkhand
9 APS Army Postal Service

First digit of PINPostal Circle
11 Delhi
80 to 85 Bihar and Jharkhand
12 and 13 Punjab
16 Chandighar
12 Himachal Pradesh
18 to 19 Jammu and Kashmir
20 to 28 Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand
0 to 34 Rajasthan
36 to 39 Gujarat
40 Goa
40 to 44 Maharashtra
45 to 48 Madhya Pradesh
49 Chhattisgarh
50 Telangana

First digit of PINPostal Circle
51 to 53 Andhra Pradesh
56 to 59 Karnataka
60 to 64 Tamil Nadu
67 to 69 kerala
682 Lakshadweep
70 to 74 West Bengal
744 Andaman and Licobar
75 to 74 Odisha
78 Assam
793. 794 Meghalaya
795 Manipur
796 Mizoram
799 Tripura